Car Accident Lawyer Oxnard, CA
After you have been injured in a car accident, an Oxnard, CA car accident lawyer is ready to help you with your insurance claim. One of the questions you likely have is whether your state has certain rules regarding whether compensation amount changes based on liability for the accident. This can become confusing, especially if the other driver is trying to push some of the fault onto you. However, with the help of a lawyer from Quirk Law Firm, LLP, you are sure to have someone by your side standing up for you legally and helping you get through the claims process.
What are fault and no-fault states?
In a fault state, whoever is involved in the accident will file an insurance claim with the party who was responsible for the accident happen. So if you were in an accident and it was the other driver’s fault, you would file your claim with their insurance. In no-fault states, you will need to file an insurance claim with your personal insurance regardless of who was at fault for the accident.
How does this work in California?
In the state of California, if you get into an accident with someone else and they are at fault, you will work with your Oxnard car accident lawyer to file an insurance claim with their insurance company to receive compensation for your injuries. Although this may seem like a simple process, it is crucial that you work with a lawyer who can help you to gather evidence to prove that the other party is at fault and help with any legal issues that may come up. Working with a lawyer from the start can ensure your claim begins strong and that you come in understanding what the process will look like.
What if their insurance policy does not cover all of my costs?
This is another reason it is so vital to work with a lawyer you can trust. In the event that the liable party does not have insurance coverage that is suitable for your injuries and property damage following the accident, your lawyer can work to file a personal injury claim to cover any additional expenses that you may have.
What if I am partially at fault?
If you are partially at fault for the car accident, you can still recover compensation. For example, if you were 10% responsible for the accident occurring, your compensation will be reduced by 10%. If you received $100,000 worth of damages, then you would still be able to recover $90,000 of these damages.
It is crucial when you are speaking with the other driver at the scene that you do not admit fault in any way or say you are sorry. They may relay this back to their insurance company and use this against you when you file a claim. If you are ready to speak with a member of Quirk Law Firm, LLP, reach out to our Oxnard car accident lawyer now.